Cannabis Infused Articles
Cannabis Infused Articles
November 12, 2020 in General News
The Utah Medical Cannabis Act was passed by lawmakers in December, 2018. They mandated that the program would begin by March 1, 2020. There are 15 qualifying medical conditions and a 16th option; if prospective patients do not have any of the qualifying conditions, they can petition the Compassionate Use Board to request that their condition be added. In this article I will explain everything you need to know about applying for a medical cannabis card in Utah.
View the complete list of qualifying conditions here.
The Compassionate Use Board is responsible to review all card applications from patients under the age of 21 and patients with conditions not listed in statute.
The CUB is made up of seven qualified medical providers appointed by the Executive Director of the Utah Department of Health (UDOH). They were confirmed by the Utah State Senate. They review applications from the following applicants on a case-by-case basis:
The next deadline to submit applications is November 13, 2020 by 5pm MST.
Compassionate Use Patient Petition Form.
Locate a Qualified Medical Provider (QMP)
Only a QMP can recommend medical cannabis treatment for patients.
They are limited to the following Utah licensed practitioners:
They are all required to meet the following requirements:
anesthesiology, neurology, oncology, pain, hospice and palliative medicine, physical medicine and rehabilitation, rheumatology, or psychiatry or if a licensed business employs or contracts the QMP for the specific purpose of providing hospice and palliative care.
You are required to meet with your QMP in person at which time your provider will fill out an assessment of your medical condition and history and enter it into your patient record. This visit may occur prior to or after the registration of the QMP by the Utah Department of Health (UDOH).
Pandemic Update: Utah offers telemedicine where you can meet with a cannabis doctor by smartphone, tablet or computer from the safety of your home. Here is the link to fill out a registration form. https://medcard.app/how-to-get-a-medical-marijuana-card-in-utah/
Apply online using the Utah Electronic Verification System (EVS).
QMP Must Complete Recommendation
During the application process, your QMP must complete their portion of the application online which includes a recommendation for medical cannabis treatment.
You are required to pay the $15 application fee online after which your application is sent to the UDOH for review and approval.
UDOH Review & Approval
The UDOH will review your application and confirm that all requirements have been met.
1. The first medical cannabis card is valid for 30 days from issuance date
2. The patient and their QMP must renew the card online within the first 30 days to avoid expiration
3. Subsequent renewal cycles are every 6 months
kutv.com, How To Get Medical Cannabis in Utah: Everything You Need To Know, Adam Forgie, Feb. 25, 2020
medicalcannabis.utah.gov, Compassionate Use Board Patient Petition Form
medcard.app, How To Get A Medical Marijuana Card in Utah
Posted: April 28, 2021 in General Education
The Role of Phytocannabinoids in the Endocannabinoid System If I had to choose one word to explain the function of the Endocannabinoid System (ECS)read more →